Address：No.393 Wukang Road
The building consists of two parts: one is a rectangular building built in 1912, which resembles the classical English architectural style; the other is a triangular building built in the 1930s, which is of the typical Art Deco style.
Granite is used as the corner base of the whole building, and symmetrical marble open-air steps are built on the first floor. The facade uses stone-like cement building blocks which set off the light horizontal straight lines, as well as relief and decorative moldings. Between the second and third floor of the south wall, there is an arched flower-color cement balcony, the two sides of which are supported by sturdy brackets which are also used as decorations. To the south of the building is a large garden with an area of 4 mu.
Huang Xing, modern democratic revolutionist, co-founder of the Tung Meng Hui and main organizer of the armed uprising during the Revolution of 1911, once lived here, so the building was known as Huang Mansion. During the period, Sun Yat-Sen twice visited Huang Xing to discuss important affairs. After Huang Xing died here on October 31, 1916, Li Shizeng, the first person to study in France, lived here. In 1929, the World Society Li Shizeng founded was moved here. In 1936, the World School Li Shizeng founded was also established here, and this school was once the most famous “noble school” in Shanghai. At the beginning of 1950, the Secondary School of the World School was discontinued, and the school was renamed the Private World Primary School. In 1956, all private schools in Shanghai were transformed into public ones, and the Private World Primary School was renamed Huaihai Road No.2 Primary School, with the address remaining unchanged. In 1965, the school was moved to No.2, Lane 280, Wukang Road, not far away from the former site. In 2008, the school name was restored to the World Primary School. It was also used by Chinese Dictionary Library and Shanghai International Library.
Now part of the building serves as Wukang Road Tourist Information Center and Xuhui Old House Art Center open to the public for free, and the rest is used by residents.
On September 23, 1999, the site was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai. On April 4, 2014, it was announced as a Historical and Cultural Heritage Protected at the Municipal Level.