Address：No.262 Hunan Road
Built in 1931, the building covers a floor area of 4,000 sq m and a building area of 1,167 sq m. It is a Spanish-style detached garden residence.
The main building is a fake-three-floor building, with the main entrance in the middle. The front faces south towards the courtyard garden lawn. The first floor of the south facade is equipped with long horizontal red-tile pitched eaves. On the second floor is a double-column loggia. The double-pitch roof of the fake third floor is folded to hipped horizontal cornices on the top. Pitched roof trusses and hipped-gable roof are adopted. The roof and bottom veranda are covered with red plain tiles, and the cornices are decorated with carved pseudo-stones. Corners, pilasters between windows, entrance columns, etc. are built with irregular stones and have natural texture. The garden has exquisite layout and luxuriant flowers throughout the year.
The building was originally the residence of the largest shareholder of Harrisons, King & Irwin, Ltd., with the original name of King & Irwin Villa. Zhou Fohai, Finance Minister of the Wang Puppet Regime, purchased the abode and renamed it Hunan Villa in 1943 and lived here for 3 years. In 1945, the building was taken over by the Nationalist Government and used by a subordinate of the Bureau of Investigation and Statistics (BIS). In 1946, it became the site of China New Social Undertaking Construction Association, whose predecessor was People Action Committee established in Chongqing in 1945. Both were led by the BIS as its peripheral organizations with the inspiration by Chiang Kai-shek.
After the liberation of Shanghai, Deng Xiaoping and Chen Yi, leaders of the CPC, once lived in the building upstairs and downstairs respectively. After they went to work in Beijing later, the building became the guesthouse of the CPC Shanghai Municipal Party Committee specially used to receive senior leaders from Beijing. He Zizhen returned from the Soviet Union in 1954 and lived here until she died in 1984. Later, the building was used by the municipal government bodies. Now it is a branch of Ruijin Hotel.
On September 23, 1999, the site was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai (under Class III Protection).
|SHICP-12040923 COPYRIGHT© 2012 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Shanghai Xuhui District Tourism Service Center|