• www.xh.gov.cn
  • Home→Info→TravelScene→No.534 Hengshan Road,Hengshan Picardie Hotel
  • No.534 Hengshan Road,Hengshan Picardie Hotel
  • No.534 Hengshan Road,Hengshan Picardie Hotel
  • No.534 Hengshan Road,Hengshan Picardie Hotel
  • No.534 Hengshan Road,Hengshan Picardie Hotel
  • No.534 Hengshan Road,Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Address:No.534 Hengshan Road  
Tel:021-51013030  
Web Site:http://www.hengshanpicardiehotel.com/cn/  
  • Hengshan Picardie Hotel at No.534 Hengshan Road, also known as I.S.S. Picardie Apartments, was built in 1934. With a building area of 26,524 sq m, it was invested by Fonciere et Immobiliere de Chine, a subsidiary of International Savings Society, designed by a French architectural firm, built by Minutti & Co. with undertakers including Panrongji, Hushunji, Liyuanji and Chenyongxing. It is a comprehensive modern apartment building.

    With a splayed architectural plane and a total height of 65 m, the building has a reinforced concrete structure and a simple appearance. Facing south, the entire building is composed of the west, middle and east parts. The middle part has 16 floors, the east part has eight floors, and the west part has nine floors. The facade is simple and bright, with an Art Deco style. The gate is located in the middle of the south side. The wall and floor in the lobby are covered with a mixture of marble and artificial stones. With coordinated colors, the interior decorations are classical and luxurious.

    In the early years, there were a total of 300 apartments for rental in the building. Foreigners such as the manager of Shanghai Gas Company (UK), the representative of Asian Oil Company in Shanghai, and the manager of Haskins & Sells lived here. After the outbreak of the Battle of Shanghai on August 13, 1937, the building was occupied by the Japanese puppet regime by force. After the Anti-Japanese War ended, it was auctioned by the KMT government. The first floor and some other floors were rented by Minutti & Co., while others were rented by KMT receivers. In 1956, it was taken over by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government, and became a guesthouse specially receiving foreign experts. It was rebuilt into “Hengshan Picardie Restaurant”, and renamed “Hengshan Picardie Hotel” in the 1980s.

    On February 15, 1994, the site was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai.

SHICP-12040923 COPYRIGHT© 2012 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Shanghai Xuhui District Tourism Service Center