• www.xh.gov.cn
  • Home→Info→TravelScene→No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
    • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments 武康大楼
  • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
  • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
  • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
  • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
  • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
  • No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road,Normandie Apartments
Address:No.1842-1858 Middle Huaihai Road  
  • Wukang Building at No.1842~1858 Middle Huaihai Road, formerly known as Normandie Apartments, was built in 1924. It was invested by International Savings Society and designed by Ladislaus Hudec from R.A.Curry. With a height of 30 m, a floor area of 1,580 sq m and a building area of 9,755 sq m, it is an apartment residence of the French Renaissance style and the earliest veranda-style apartment building in Shanghai.

    微信图片_20190320131801_meitu_5.jpg

    The building has an eight-floor reinforced concrete structure. The plane is arranged according to the wedge-shaped terrain. The building is narrow and long, looking like a ship. Its front part is an arcade in the form of a continuous colonnade. The facade is divided into three horizontal sections. The first and second floors serve as the base, with a continuous semi-circular colonnade and stone-like cement walls. The third floor has a protruding long balcony, while the fourth to seventh floors have small balconies. The first and second floors adopt cement walls, while the third to seventh floors adopt red-brick walls. On the top floor, a continuous protruding balcony and a parapet form double horizontal architraves. In 1930, another five-floor mixed-structure building was built to the east, with a building area of 1,700 sq m. The first floor is used by stores, and the second to fifth floors are used by residents.

    微信图片_20190320142338_meitu_2.jpg

    After the building is completed, the residents are mostly foreign staff. After the Anti-Japanese War ended in 1945, the building was bought by Kung Hsiang-hsi 's daughter Kung Ling-wei, and most of the rooms were used by officials of the National Government. In 1953, it was renamed Wukang Building. Later, many literature and art celebrities settled here. Famous movie artists Zheng Junli, Zhao Dan, Qin Yi, Sun Daolin, Wang Wenjuan and Wang Renmei and famous cartoonist Ye Qianyu all once lived here.

    In 1953, the building was renamed Wukang Building. On February 15, 1994, it was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai.

SHICP-12040923 COPYRIGHT© 2012 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Shanghai Xuhui District Tourism Service Center