Address：No.319 Yueyang Road
No.319 Yueyang Road was built in 1928. Invested by French Far East Land Trust Company, it is an English country house-style garden residence.
The roofs of the buildings are enlarged, with double-pitch and shed-shaped dormers. The facades of the first floor are red plain brick walls pointed with white mortar. The second floor and the dormers have a black half-timbered structure. Part of the roofs and walls has beautiful brickwork red-brick chimneys. The buildings present a distinctive English country house style on the whole. There are two buildings in the yard.
Before the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949, one building was the French Consulate and the other was its mansion. In the early years of the People’s Republic of China, it was taken over by the People’s Liberation Army Medical Academy. After 1956, it was the seat of Shanghai Branch of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Former British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, North Korean leader Kim Il Sung and others all visited here. Today, both buildings have been restored as they were.
On October 31, 2005, the site was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai. On December 4, 2008, it was announced by Xuhui District People’s Government as a Cultural Relic Preservation Unit of Xuhui District.