• www.xh.gov.cn
Address:South Urumqi Road- Yueyang Road  
  • Dongping Road is an east-west road in the northeast of Xuhui District. As it runs from Yueyang Road to South Urumqi Road, it meetsFenyang Road and Hengshan Road. Surfaced with asphalt, it measures 398 meters long and 12 meters wide.

    Dongping Road was built by theMunicipal French Council in 1913. Back then, it ran from the junction of Avenue Joffre, now Middle Huaihai Road, and Route Ghisi, now Yuyang Road, to that of Avenue Joffre and Route Pichon, now Fenyang Road. It was named Route Francis Garnierat the board meeting of theMunicipal French Council on October 13, 1913, in commemoration ofa French officer who fought in Vietnam War and was later killed by the Black Flag Army. In October 1943, it was renamed for Dongping County in Shandong Province.

    With plane trees on both sides, the roadis tranquil and dotted withtwo- to three-story detached garden houses. Dongping Road features high-end residential communities with a pleasant environment. It has been home to a large number of capitalists, entrepreneurs, dignitaries and celebrities. The most famous is the “Ai Lu”(House of Love) standing at No. 9. The former residence of Chiang Kai-shek and Song Meiling, it is now used by the Music Middle School Affiliated to Shanghai Conservatory of Music. The buildings at No. 7 and No. 11 were the residences of the Kongs and the Songs.


SHICP-12040923 COPYRIGHT© 2012 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Shanghai Xuhui District Tourism Service Center