The garden was firstly built in 1937 when Bao Qinxuan, the magician of Shanghai, raised funds to build a health farm. It was completed in 10 years, covering an area of 13,000 m2.There are rowboats and sport courts in the farm. It was transformed into an amusement park in the early years of new China. It was renamed “Kangjian Garden” in April 1953. In 1956, it was expanded to 13,300 m2.In the middle of the 1980s, it was reconstructed into Shanghai Science Popularization Park. On January 1, 1990, it resumed its former name “Kangjian Garden”. It was expanded again in 1987, and now covers an area of 80,000 m2. The scenic spots in the park are arranged along the S-shaped river; the islets are covered with plants and flowers; there is a gallery to the east of the river and a scenic spot of Taihu Stone in the north of the park.It is now used by some unit. On April 27, 2017, it was designated as a Cultural Relic Protection Site in Xuhui District by the Cultural Affairs Bureau of Xuhui District, Shanghai.