Search
  • Detail Info

No.152~154 & 156~158 Fenyang Road, also known as Bingli Garden, was built in 1930. It is a German-style double-terrace garden residence.

6 汾阳路152-154号、156-158号,“并立花园”3_副本.jpg

The two buildings were built at the same time and had the same house type. The facade is simple and symmetrical, with fewer decorations. The first and second floors adopt red plain bricks, with buttresses at wall corners. The colonnades on the third floor are covered with cement stucco which is distinctive and contrasting, and there is a circle of simple architraves at the junction of the second and third floors. The double-folded-tile hipped roof has a high-pitched top and obvious bottom cornices diagonally supported by brackets in pair. There are semi-circular arch loggias on both sides of the third floor. The windows are light, with wooden shutters on the first and second floors. The overall architectural style is graceful and generous.

6 汾阳路152-154号、156-158号 并立花园1 _副本.jpg

The building group was originally the residences of senior staff of Eastern Extension, Australasia & China Telegraph Co., Ltd., including company manager, chief representative in China, branch manager, etc. Other residents included foreign employees of Wilkinson, Heywood & Clark, Butterfield & Swire, etc. Today, No.152~154 are used by residents, No.156 has been changed to Dragon Club, while No.158 has become Peace Mansion, a high-end club.

Before the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949, Peace Mansion was once the private residence of Dai Li, Director of the Bureau of Investigation and Statistics of the Nationalist Government. During the Cultural Revolution, Lin Liguo, the son of Lin Biao, also settled here.

On October 31, 2005, the site was announced by Shanghai Municipal People’s Government as a Heritage Architecture in Shanghai.

Search
Related Info Comment Info Comment
  • No relevant information.