• Detail Info

Built in 1918, these were European style garden residences.There are 4 residences in the lane; No. 1 connected with No. 2, and No. 3 connected with No. 4. The building has a two-storey brick-wood structure, with symmetrical façades; the main building has two storeys, with a simple basement underneath. The south side of this building has a wide inner gallery and a second-floor inner balcony. The carved wooden staircases on both sides lead to the second floor. In the front, there is a prominent entrance hall that leads to the garden, above which there is a small balcony; and the top gable is decorated with a semi-exposed wood structure. The building has a slope roof, with the northern eaves dropped down. The exterior walls are covered with tawny pebbles. The eastern and western exterior walls have various window types and decorations; the big arched windows and narrow circular windows are all decorated with flower-type red-brick frames. There is a pointed arch type dormer on the top, a little like the European castle style. The middle part of the north side is a three-storey auxiliary building, with an independent small stairway.At the beginning of the 20th century when the American Texaco Oil Company came to Shanghai to explore the Chinese market, it built apartments in Lane 100, Wukang Road, for its senior staff. Inside the wide and quiet lane, there is a garden on both north and south sides, and the original south garden was very large, the wall of which reached up to Fuxing Road West.After the founding of new China, the residences were allocated by Shanghai municipal authorities to the senior cadres of East China Bureau. The famous Chinese scholar, ideologist, and theorist of art and literature, Wang Yuanhua, once lived at No. 1. Wang Yuanhua (1920~2008) was born in Wuchang, Hubei. He made outstanding contributions to the research on ancient Chinese literary theories, contemporary literary theories, history of Chinese literary criticism, and ideological and academic history of modern China. He is a symbolic leader in the academic circles of China after 1949. He once served as the member of the 1st and 2nd Discipline Review Group of the Academic Degrees Committee under the State Council, the head of Propaganda Department of Shanghai Municipal Committee, the professor and doctoral supervisor of East China Normal University, the Party member of Shanghai Federation of Literary and Art Circles, and the counselor of China Writers Association.Peng Baishan also live in Lane 100, Wukang Road at that time. He served as the deputy political commissar of the 24th Army of the Third Field Army during the War of Liberation and participated and commanded Huaihai Campaign; after the founding of new China, he was the second head of Propaganda Department of Shanghai Municipal Committee.The building is now Yinju Fanhua (Wukang Road) Hotel. On April 27, 2017, it was designated as a Cultural Relic Protection Site in Xuhui District by the Cultural Affairs Bureau of Xuhui District, Shanghai.


Related Info Comment Info Comment
  • No relevant information.